Minimalism Challenge 2.0 – Day 14

Pens! So many pens. That’s all for today.

Just kidding, I can’t let my readers down. But I did need an easy day so I looked around my apartment and stumbled across this paper cup with pens that I don’t use. I probably “borrowed” most of them from my old office (oops). It might sound silly but throwing out these perfectly fine pens makes me think about how unevenly the wealth is distributed in this world. There are so many people who don’t have money for school supplies (or shoes, or clothes, or food for that matter – especially now…) and here I am sitting in so much excess that I can easily throw out dozens of things that I don’t like anymore, and be happy about it. Our world is so unbalanced in so many ways.

Since I don’t have any suggestions for how to immediately heal the world other than to heal myself (which I’m actively trying to do), let’s get back to the stuff I’m throwing out (which is part of my healing): Right next to the cup was a stack of cards (gift cards, bonus cards, credit cards, etc.) So I picked a few out of that stack to supplement the pens. I have no idea if there’s money on that Lord & Taylor card but even if there is, it looks like there won’t be anywhere to spend it after this pandemic is over (it WILL be over, right?). The TD bank cards are from a joint account Julie and I used to share (everyone knows who Julie is at this point, right?) and they’re expired. So that’s it for today: 10 pens, 3 plastic cards, and a paper cup (items 92 through 105).

IMG_9399.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment