Scroll No More – Days 16 – 25

When I started this, I thought slip ups would be less frequent towards the end of this detox. You know what’s coming – I was wrong. In the last ten days I found myself gravitating back towards Facebook and Instagram. Without getting to deep into psychoanalyzing myself, I think this is what’s happening:

(A) I have FOMO (fear of missing out for those of you not fluent in millennial internet lingo). My FOMO manifests itself in being afraid of missing major announcements of my social media friends (pregnancies, moves, new jobs, new pets, engagements, etc. This fear is of course, as are most fears, quite irrational. If someone really needs and/or wants to keep me posted (no pun intended), they will use a direct line of communication.

(B) I think I’ve learned what I wanted to learn from this experiment and I’m ready for it to be over. I’ve learned which parts of social media bring joy and/or value to my life and which parts are just plain distracting and useless, which is what all the intentional living hype is all about for me.  It’s not about giving away everything you own, going off the grid, or quitting your job to pursue your “real passion”. It’s about making the most out of each day, each moment, about celebrating average things and seeing their extraordinary components. When I learn something new, I’m always eager to apply it and that’s why I want to be done with this. Calling it quits early would also be an option but that would kind of go against the self-discipline component of this exercise. Hence, I’m going to hang in there for five more days and then unleash my better and more intentional self with a vengeance.  Image result for fomo

This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Scroll No More, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

