Around the World in 136 Blog Posts – Stop 19: Hellas

I have never been to Greece so this stop on my virtual journey around the world (during which I “visit” all the countries from where people have at some point viewed my blog) shall be filed under “I would like to go there one day.”

Greece is best known (at least from my perspective) for its abundance of islands, mythology, the colors blue and white, gyros and tzatziki, large families with over-the-top celebrations (please do yourself a favor and watch My Big Fat Greek Wedding if you haven’t already done so), and last but not least legendary philosophers and mathematicians whose teachings will forever help us make sense of the world we live in.

Let’s take a closer look at the Greek awesomeness listed above.

Abundance of islands: I don’t think the word abundance has ever been more accurate to describe a quantity, mostly because there are no accurate numbers. The internet says that there are about 1,200 to 6,000 Greek islands, 166 to 227 of which are inhabited. In the ages of there’s-data-for-everything and satellite images, I’m baffled that no one has figured out what exactly is going on in the Greek waters, but then again, mythology…

Gyros and tzatziki: Oh the garlicky, flavorful deliciousness… Well no more Gyros for me because I’m trying my very best not to eat meat but tzatziki… tzatziki doesn’t require the killing of animals and makes every single vegetable delicious. Win win situation.

My Big Fat Greek Wedding: It’s a classic rom-com with a very predictable story line and corny AF. I love corny rom-coms. (I’m not that deep.)

Favorite quote:

You know, the root of the word Miller is a Greek word. Miller come from the Greek word “milo,” which is mean “apple,” so there you go. As many of you know, our name, Portokalos, is come from the Greek word “portokali,” which mean “orange.” So, okay? Here tonight, we have, ah, apple and orange. We all different, but in the end, we all fruit.

Mathematicians: I will never forget how to calculate the length of one side of a right triangle when I know how long the other two are. And for that, I’m grateful.

Philosophers: Where would mankind be without Socrates and Plato. I mean really, the world is barely managing to keep it together WITH their teachings to guide us…

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

Greece-Santorini-Flag

 

 

This entry was posted in Around the World, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Around the World in 136 Blog Posts – Stop 19: Hellas

  1. andreas says:

    Thank you for your referrence in Greece, my country! We’d love to see you here some time 🙂

    • Thank you for reading! Did I do a decent job representing your country?

      • Andreas says:

        Oh, yes! Very adequate description, you talked about the most basic stuff about Hellas. Of course the list of archaeological interest is endless, due to our rich history and heritage. Overall thoughwww.youtube.com/watch?v=mf7m9ICj1SU glad that you’re aware of those things you mention about Hellas. You have an open invitation to visit with your wife, I guarantee you’re gonna have a great time here! 😀

  2. andreas says:

    Thanks for using the term “Hellas” as well, very nice of you!

  3. Andreas says:

    Oops, sorry for accidentally pasting an unrelated youtube link there, just ignore.

  4. Andreas says:

    So glad to see you on the trailer of TLC MGL season 3!! You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

