The Biggest Win of my Life…

… was not the time when we (St. Francis Terriers) as the number 8 seat kicked the uncontested number 1 LIU out of the play offs on their home court. It wasn’t that time when we (Hagen Huskies) surprised everyone by making it to the final of the German U20 championships. It wasn’t even when I took my first steps after 5 months on crutches. No, the biggest win was today when I handed in the last exam of my career as a grad student at NYU-Poly. I don’t say that because school is hard for me – it actually comes pretty easy – I say it because this means that I’ve managed to get a whole new life together within two years.

When I played ball, unfair coaches caused me anxiety and I was scared of missing shots or not being able to box out a physically superior opponent. Little did I know that the scariest part was yet to come – the real world. No, not the one on MTV where you get paid to live in a house with a bunch of strangers; the one with too many bills of all sorts and not enough dollar bills. It’s a world where no one runs back on defense for you because you turned the ball over; it’s a world where no one organizes everything for you so that you can focus on playing the sport you love. It’s scary as hell because mistakes aren’t fixed as easily as they are during a game of basketball. On the court, you get a million chances to make it right, there’s always the next play. In life, you don’t know when the next opportunity will present itself or if it will present itself at all. You have to get a little lucky and hope that your hard work pays off. I am very lucky to have people in my life who believe in me and who have done everything in their power to make it all less scary. I am debt-free (my Dad made it pretty clear that he doesn’t want the money back), I have a full time job lined up, I have an amazing girlfriend, and I have unlimited appreciation for it all because I know what it’s like when suddenly your whole life is being turned upside down.

Now I truly know that I can do anything and make it anywhere because I’ve made it here.

 

PS: To everyone who’s read this – Thanks for coming back to my blog after such a long time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Biggest Win of my Life…

  1. Marco says:

    Sehr gute Einstellung. Weiter so! 😉

  2. Yonatan says:

    Good luck for the future. Keep on blogging!

Leave a Reply

