Witness

Disclaimer: No, this is not about LeBron James.

I am a witness, or you can also call it a lucky woman. Lucky to have been in the right place at the right time. I don’t know anything about dance but ever since I saw an Alvin Ailey Poster somewhere in the city a few years ago, I have been wanting to go to a show. Well guess what, the Dean of Student Affairs at NYU Poly (who happens to be my boss) decided to swipe her credit card for one last time before the christmas break and treat a group of students to an Alvin Ailey performance. A $100 ticket was mine for a $15 co-pay. What I didn’t know when I deposited my cash was that I was in for a truly priceless experience. My Alvin Ailey show happened to be the last performance of Renee Robinson and a special farewell dedicated to her career, which started before I was even in the making. The name didn’t ring a bell immediately but the face did, and her stage presence rang a whole set of bells. She was amazing and I got to witness her last dance. How lucky is that? I came home with lifted spirits, a dumb smile on my face, and with the reassurance that I am doing exactly the right thing by spending these years of my life in New York City – the place where every night can turn into a historic moment, just like that.

Renee Robinson's Last Dance in NYC on Dec 9th, 2012

Renee Robinson’s Last Dance in NYC on Dec 9th, 2012

This entry was posted in happy vibes, New York City People and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

