Around the World in 67 Blog Posts – Stop 8: Italia

Italy – the land of pasta, high quality leather, Lamborginis, fashion, la familia and dramatic operas. I think the reason why their operas are so good and so dramatic might be that the drama gene is an important part of the complex Italian DNA. This gene has also survived the migration to the US and especially to NYC. Watch one episode of Mob Wives and you’ll know what I’m talking about. This is as always purely intended for your entertainment and not to offend anyone with Italian roots.

Places I have been to: The two times that I should have gone to Italy with my basketball National Team, I got hurt right before the tournaments (I always had great timing with injuries) so the last (and only) time I went was when I was about 2 years old and we took a family trip to the beautiful Lake Garda. I was too young to make my own memories but old enough to make the trip memorable for everyone else by falling out of a pretty high bunk bed (I broke the railing) and by testing if the bbq grill was still hot with my little bare hands.

Places I still want to go to: Roma, Venezia, Toscana (this language makes them all sound like the most beautiful places on earth)

A few things I like:

  • Pizza (duh!)
  • The blue of the Italian national teams’ jerseys (they’re called Squadra Azzurra) and it historically goes back to the colors of the House of Savoy or King of Sardinia or something along those lines.
  • The talking with the hands. As much fun as I made of the drama gene, I enjoy this about Italians, it’s real and genuine.´
  • The phrase “Ciao Bella!”

One “thing” I don’t like: Italian men who think they can have any woman just because they’re Italian. This, however, might remain the same as long as women like Heidi Klum have babies by men like Flavio Briatore (I never understood that!!)

Pictures are once again sponsored by Google Image search.

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Around the World in 67 Blog Posts – Stop 8: Italia

  1. Bert Meijers says:

    Ja, Italien ist ein schönes Land. Ich bin schon oft da gewesen, vor allem Rom hat mir gut gefallen! Das letzte Mal war ich in Mestre bei Venedig, die Lagunenstadt selber habe ich (leider) nicht besuchen können. Aber das werde ich sicher noch nachholen. Vielleicht könnten wir ja zusammen hingehen? 😉

  2. LEO says:

    Ha!Ha!Ha!Ciao Bella!:))))))))))))))))))))
    Sorry You probably had experiences with any italian men of the kind:))))))))))))))))))))
    As for me ,I never had such kind of approach thinking with any woman thinking I could have her
    just because italian man….. by the way I’ve to confess I thought I could have any woman
    just because a good,sensible,may be a cocktail of a lot of things MAN ,just thinking being able to give a lot to a woman,may be I’m a little bit PEACOCK(ha!ha!ha!)now,by the way not so bad peacock!ha!ha!ha!:)))))))))))))))))))))
    Hope You will come again in Italy,enjoying much more things of my country:))))))))))))))))))))))))
    Baci(Kisses) dal Tuo amico by other past posts Leo from Bologna,just 30 min Firenze,Tuscany and close to Milan,Venice and Rimini too:))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
    CIAO BELLISSIMA!!!!!!!:))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  3. Thisboysmind says:

    Q.E.D. 🙂

    Also, just wondering based on this and your third world-tour post, what would happen if someone said “Ciao Bella!” to you in an affected French accent?

    • Hahaha you are funny… QED lol… Ciao Bella in an affected French accent? Maybe I would say let’s get a room lol I don’t know. Btw congrats on getting your posts started 🙂

      • Thisboysmind says:

        Thanks, I don’t call it a blog till it has at least 10 posts.
        Writing is so much tougher than i remembered it from school or maybe it’s that the internet is so full of distractions.
        I’m probably gonna go for a combination foodie/ homeless man’s Malcolm Gladwell on my blog with lots of over-analyzing stuff.
        Time will tell.

        If you are interested in getting more comments, funny or otherwise, and some travel tips, maybe you can end the posts with a “call to action”, something like “what are your favorite things about this country? any tips for traveling?”

        OK, gotta go work on my next blog post, writing this comment is proving to be a distraction…

      • Over-analyzing sounds great to me (if you couldn’t tell lol…)
        Can’t wait to see what it turns out ot be!
        I’m going to try to incorporate your suggestion. I’ve thought about it before but I always feel corny haha but I guess we all need a little corn in our life once in a while… I’m glad my blog is interesting enough to distract you though

Leave a Reply

