Around the World in 67 Blog Posts – Stop 5: Israel

So if I have any writing skills at all, you – my highly appreciated readers – have figured out by now that sometimes you can’t take me too seriously. On this journey around the world I might make fun of stereotypes or customs here and there and my intention is for it to be somewhat entertaining. Now there are countries like France or England where it seems ok do reduce them to being good lovers or having Rosamunde Pilcher landscapes. But this one is a little tricky. Any text about an area or country that gets a lot of political attention, will automatically be examined for political correctness. And although I consider myself diplomatic and law-abiding, being politically correct has never been my forte. In this case it also doesn’t help that I’m German. I just talked to my new Israeli friend Daniella the other day about my brief time in Tel Aviv with my National team and she asked if we were given any trouble at the airport or at the hotel. We weren’t. It wasn’t a topic but yet it still is a topic in people’s heads. In Daniella’s head because she was inclined to ask that question; in my head because I jokingly say to myself “you do know I’m German, right?” when being recruited by orthodox Jews in Brooklyn Heights. Now you see what I mean about political correctness not being my forte… But back to Israel. Only place I’ve been to was Tel-Aviv and it was nice. It was nice and hot. Hot in the gym, hot in the historic sites and hot on the beach. Tel Aviv is also a hot spot when it comes to favorite places to play for american pro ballers. You might not get the strongest competition on the court all the time but you definitely have strong competition when determining who parties the hardest.  At least that’s what I’ve been told and I believe it because Tel Aviv seems very much americanized in the sense that they like to build new things shiny and cool, big and loud.

I never got to play with a team there but I’ll always remember my agent saying “Hey Kat, the Tel Aviv Rockets are looking for someone” when I was waiting for the next gig. This happened to be at a time when there was some bombing going on down there. Mike also doesn’t give a rat’s ass about being politically correct and that’s one of the reasons why I like him.

As far as places I’ve seen and want to go to and all that stuff, I don’t have much to say but instead I wanted to share my “favorite” memory with you. We were at the beach on our day off and ran into some Israeli soldiers who also seemed to be off that day. They did, however, bring some equipment and were giving themselves IVs of I don’t know what but they seemed to enjoy it. Back then it put me off and I just thought they were completely crazy but in retrospect it seemed slightly unhygienic but not dangerous per se. These guys actually showed some of the qualities that I appreciate in most of the Israelis I had the pleasure of getting to know throughout the years. They are fearless, blunt and there’s never a dull moment.

To wrap it up I would love to write a few words in Hebrew but I might as well try chinese… Taking my hat off to everyone who learns either one as a second language.

 
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Around the World in 67 Blog Posts – Stop 5: Israel

  1. Thisboysmind says:

    Nice post, are the orthodox Jews recruiting you for their bball team or their synagogue?

    The guys on the beach were probably from combat medic school.
    It’s extremely important to be able to insert an IV as quickly and as efficiently as possible so they like to practice it as often as they can.

    Also, a chilled saline solution on a hot summer day is actually a real pleasure, it cools the body in a very pleasant way and gives you extra energy, people volunteer to get them!

  2. Thisboysmind says:

    You’re only guessing it’s for the synagogue?
    Like you walk down the street and some bearded guy in a black suit with a big black hat says “psst meydele can i interest you in some recruiting?” and you just walk away?
    Methinks this requires further investigation 🙂

    My knowledge in this case comes from personal experience.
    I’ve been on the receiving end of a couple of practice IVs and although i hate needles and blood, the overall experience was very positive.
    I got to lie down for an hour in the tent and enjoy the cooling effect of the IV while the other soldiers in my platoon were being drilled in the scorching desert sun, what more could one ask for?

  3. Oran says:

    Hi katja, really liked you comment about israelis at the v end,
    very good observation.
    And hebrew is tricky i agree..

Leave a Reply

