Priorities

It’s been a few days since my last stop on my tour around the world and it might take a little longer until I get to pack my things (or my thoughts) again. I have about one week left in my semester and although I’m German and like to have a plan for everything, I am stuck with last-minute work and end-of-the semester stress. It is Cinco de Mayo, so the whole city is out drinking Margaritas and having fun but that wasn’t really an option for me because partying is not a priority right now. That to me is very clear but I have been struggling a bit with defining my priorities. Out of eating healthy, supporting the person who is closest to me with her endeavors, sleeping enough to function, working out to keep the body strong to support the mind, getting my school work done, making money to not having to completely rob my Dad, maintaining friendships – what’s most important?

Yes, I want my perfect academic record and it’s not that I’m not on track but it has been hard to make it more important than all the other things I’ve listed. One of my strategies for sustainable happiness is to always be in the moment and give 100% do whatever I am doing. But that’s exactly what hasn’t happened lately. When I study I find my mind wandering to the other things that need to be done and when I’m relaxing or supporting Margie I catch myself thinking about my papers. So basically I put myself under constant stress and that’s not good. At this point, it’s too late in the game to change the strategy, I’m just going to suck it up and do it differently the next time around. I will probably still have the same problems with ranking my priorities but I will know what’s coming and more ready to accept the struggle. Knowing your enemy is half the battle. On that note I promise to focus 100% on sleeping 5 hours now. Good Night.

This entry was posted in happy vibes, Healthy Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Priorities

  1. Victor Lomas says:

    Estimada Katya,
    encantado de recibir tu ayuda con el alemán. Gracias de antemano.

    Ahora que mencionas el “Cinco de Mayo” déjame decirte algunos hechos con respecto a esa fecha y a los mexicanos.

    1.- El “Cinco de Mayo” es una fecha que celebran en EEUU como si fuera la Independencia de México y no es así. La Independencia de México se celebra el 15 de septiembre y fué en 1810. El 5 de mayo es importante sí, pero nuestra fiesta nacional es el 15 de septiembre donde México declara la independencia de la Corona Española.
    2.- EL 5 de mayo de 1862 ocurrió una batalla cerca de la ciudad de Puebla contra el ejercto invasor francés. Y el ejército mexicano comandado por general Ignacio Zaragoza repelió el ataque obligando al ejército francés replegarse hacia el este. Sin embargo, más tarde el imperio francés terminó imponiendo a Maximiliano de Hasburgo como Emperador de México.
    3.-La bebida tradicional mexicana es el tequila, un destilado del agave. El cual se toma solo. Recientemente se ha combinado el tequila con jugos, refresco(soda) y hielo. Sin embargo, creeme, las margaritas, no son tan comunes en México como se cree en el resto del Mundo. La mayoría de los adultos mexicanos lo toma o con refresco de toronja (paloma) o separado con jugo de tomate, limón y sal (bandera).

    Saludos
    Victor Lomas

Leave a Reply

