Around the world in 67 blog posts. Stop 2: Deutschland

We’re flying from the USA to Germany. From the East Coast it’s a 7-hour flight, so not much longer than going from NY to LA. I’ll be on one of those Cross-Atlantic flights 4 weeks from now to go home to my family for the summer break. When Americans hear the word Germany, they usually think “BMW – Bratwurst – Beer” and all these things are certainly part of my country’s culture but there is so much more to it. Out of all the words that start with a B I miss my German bread the most and was so happy when I ran into a german bakery the other day that sold fresh, dark, grainy, soft, wholesome, finger-licking-good bread. We just do things on a high quality level in Germany – we do them so well that a lot of people I meet in NY ask me “what are you doing here??” It is indeed a good question because Germany was a great country to be born and raised in. But before I get sentimental…

 A few things I like: The language – it has the reputation of sounding hard and being complicated which makes sense when considering that words like “Rindfleischetikettierungsüberwachungsaufgabenübertragungsgesetz” appear in the dictionary. But when spoken correctly, German is a beautiful language and has created nourishment for great poets such as Rilke. The biggest compliment I got in a while was my friends telling me that they are proud of me for still speaking proper german and not completely turning into an American…

I also like that everything is always in order and that “a word is still a word” (says my Dad). I like that everyone can get an almost free education but I don’t want to think about that too much because it makes me doubt my decision to get my Masters degree at NYU for $39,000 that I can only afford because of the just mentioned main man in my life. But doubts are useless thoughts the same way worries are so I’m going to stop here.

A few things I don’t like: Obviously this blog post is a bit biased. However, when going out to eat in Germany I find nothing more annoying than having to seat myself in a crowded restaurant. Hosts and hostesses – I appreciate you guys!! The story then continues with the fact that there is no free water and non-alcoholic drinks usually cost the same as beer.

A little bit of history: The Holocaust was obviously one of the biggest terrors in recent history. But from the little bit I know from and about my grandmother (she passed away when I was 8 years old) I can tell you that a big part of Germany’s strength today is based on the strong women who rebuilt a destroyed country with their bare hands. My grandma had to flee and ran west when the Russians invaded the country. Her first husband died in the war and so she literally built a home from scratch. My Mom, who is the youngest of five was basically born in a shack. She’s a wonderful woman and I just hope that I will succeed in raising my kids the same way she raised my sister and me!

 A miracle of nature: So you all know that there are high and low tides of the sea because of the moon’s attraction. On the coast of the Northern Sea, the water actually is pulled back so far that you can walk in the mud (Wadden Sea) for hours. It amazes me every time I see it. Definitely check it out when you go to Germany. On that note, today’s picture was taken in Cuxhaven when I was out for some fresh Sea air with my family. The water was just coming back in.

This entry was posted in happy vibes, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Around the world in 67 blog posts. Stop 2: Deutschland

  1. Octavio says:

    Katja, me ha gustado mucho tu post, aprovecha estos dias de familia. Muchos besos de Helen y mios….. Espero que nos veamos algun dia por Brasil

  2. Bert Meijers says:

    Schön das du wieder in deine “Heimat” kommst. Viel Spass bei deiner Familie! Du schreibst mir doch wenn du auf deiner Tour auch die Niederlande besucht, oder? Ich würde mich freuen, dich wieder mal zu sehen!

  3. Alex Herges says:

    USA may be great and all that, but thell me you don´t miss the Umlauts ä, ö and ü on these american laptops 🙂

    Das von dir erwähnte Gesetz ist mir übrigens völlig unbekannt. Gib zu, das hast du dir nur ausgedacht.

  4. Victor Lomas says:

    De verdad disfruto leer cada uno de tus post. Te has puesto a pensar en esos detalles que la gente que regularmente viaja mucho termina por obviar, pero que a mi siempre me sorprenden. Hablar más de un idioma es excelente, pero que hables tres me parece extraordinario. Y que siempre pongas énfasis en las diferencias entre un país, cultura o idioma me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo alemán y dejame decirte que entre el inglés y el alemán, prefiero el segundo. Es una lengua tan completa donde para cada situación se dice de forma diferente..

    Saludos Katya, desde México.

    Atentamente Victor.

Leave a Reply

