March Madness

March madness – a big game every night, upsets, heroes, tragic figures, blood, sweat and tears. All that was part of my previous life as a basketball player and it still is now. The classroom is the arena, my fellow students are on my team. Some work with me, some against me but at the end of the day we all just want to win. We want to hold our own against the professor, the books – the opponents in a more powerful position. I sweat through exams, I practice (i.e. study) until I am completely exhausted and write papers until my fingers bleed. Basketball was the love of my life but now I’m realizing that it was the process of getting better and working towards success that I loved the most. The giving it my all, the one shining moment time when it all seems to pay off. And the mental challenge to let it go when all those hours of work don’t quite seem to pay off… Amazing doesn’t only happen on the basketball courts of this world, it happens anywhere you want it to happen. And as I am living through this whole new form of march madness I can still say “I love this game!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March Madness

  1. Tasha says:

    Nice!!! The classroom is practice 🙂

  2. Mark says:

    Like my favorite coach of all time, Bob “The General” Knight at Indiana University used to say, “When playing basketball, you don’t compete against the other team. The opponent is the game of basketball itself.” Only by doing this can you expect to improve to your fullest potential. This not only applies to basketball, but to anything that you endeavor to achieve in life!
    Indiana University, NCAA MEN’S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS 1940, 1953, 1976, 1981, 1987 and again…..SOON!

  3. Marco says:

    Hi Katja!

    In my opinion it´s all about your way of thinking. Your thoughts create reality. As long as you believe in what you think and do it´ll be a great benefit for your life. It´s fantastic how you can move your positive energy from court to desk site by using this “as if” frame 😉 That´s a cool way of self motivation and it shows us how important mental strength / positive thinking is for us. There are plenty of books (books about–> Neuro linguistic programming = NLP) regarding this topic and trying to understand how this works. Sometimes I try to see the world in my positive “as if” world. This makes it always a fun place to be and gives me a lot of power to withstand contrarious moments 🙂 How did you come up with this strategy?

    all the best

    Marco

    • Hi Marco,

      I don’t know if I came up with this strategy or if I just started using it after the words from all these motivational speakers and “self-help” books kicked in. The mind is very powerful though and I do believe that our thoughts very much influence our body.

      Thanks for reading and commenting :),

      Katja

Leave a Reply

